Magic + Magic = ?

Marco just sent me his augmented reality card trick movie and I immediately had to cover it. I think he did a great job. Exactly that is what I mean, when talking about ideas in 2009 and following. These days you will not develop the wheel or be the first to cook a meal with fire, but you can combine existing things in a new way. The augmented card trick is an invention and I am sure when it is implemented into the fascinating (commercial) show programme it will become an innovation, proven through market entry. And this is not magic, this is inventive talent.

9 Responses to Magic + Magic = ?

  1. zach wilson says:

    that is fucking dope

  2. [...] RSS feed for updates on this topic.Powered by WP Greet BoxSo I know Jan covered this over at the Augmented Reality Blog, but I thought it was such a great video I wanted to show it and talk about it here.  First please [...]

  3. [...] Augmented Reality Blog] var addthis_pub = ‘pfayn’; var addthis_language = ‘en’;var addthis_options = ‘email, favorites, [...]

  4. augmentedblog says:

    Not that somebody gets this or me wrong: we are talking about “1.0″ and of course some post production magic… It´s a concept!

  5. zach says:

    @augmentedblog,

    there’s no post production :-)

    (I was a software developer for this)

    some behind the scenes software shots:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/virtualmagician/sets/72157617400276118/

    and a how it’s done video coming shortly to show that it’s all working in realtime, etc.

    take care!!
    zach

    • augmentedblog says:

      Hey Zach, thanks. So, did you use some “green screen” technique (the mat) to track the hands move? Obviously there are no trigger points or something. Would love to read your system set-up…

      And Sorry for my faux-pas. Lucky us we are operating with read-write media :)

  6. I am releasing a series of blog posts about AR that you might be interested in – http://bit.ly/B0VOc – would love your feedback

    • augmentedblog says:

      Hello Tom, I am looking forward to your series. I am very curious about your findings and will try to enter the – hopefully prolific – discussion.

      Best regards,

      Jan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,670 other followers

